Posted

print

favorite this post Experienced Math/Stats Tutor & Piano Teacher (Eastern CT) hide this posting unhide

MATH/STATS: (Please scroll down for Piano)
I've been tutoring in math and statistics for 15 years, mostly for high school and college students, but for some younger ones as well.

I spend a lot of time tutoring UConn students, for courses including:
-Problem Solving
-Discrete Mathematics
-PreCalculus
-Math for Business & Economics
-Calculus for Business & Economics
-Calculus 1
-Calculus 2
-Multivariable Calculus (i.e. Calc 3)
-Applied Linear Algebra
-Introductory Statistics courses (1000Q, 1100Q, 2215Q, and similar courses)

I also tutor for most high school courses-- PreAlgebra, Algebra 1 & 2, Geometry, Trigonometry, Probability, Statistics, PreCalculus, Calculus, test prep, etc.

I usually tutor college students at their campus library. For high school and grade school students, I usually tutor in the student's home. For students who live far from me, we meet halfway at a library or coffee shop. I've had high school and grade school students from Norwich, Montville, Franklin, Bozrah, Lebanon, Marlborough, Colchester, Windham, Mansfield, Manchester, Lisbon, Griswold, Voluntown, Waterford, East Lyme, Preston, Pawcatuck, Mystic, Woodstock, Tolland, Stafford, Windsor, Glastonbury, Hartford and Avon.


PIANO: I teach a variety of skills, including ear training, chord theory, reading chord sheets and traditional staff music, singing while playing, songwriting, accompanying. Each of my students has a different interest, and lessons are tailored accordingly. I use traditional folk songs to teach basic chord theory and song structure. My preferred lesson book is John Thompson. I often make simple arrangements of modern songs for my students to play at their request. I've been writing music since I was a young teen, and I'm currently recording an album. I also play guitar and penny whistle.

I've been teaching piano for 15 years. I teach in the student's home. Towns have included Lebanon, Norwich, East Hampton, Hebron, Preston, Ledyard, Groton, Voluntown, Mansfield and Salem.

I have a B.A. in Music from the University of Connecticut, as well as extensive math credit.
Day, evening and weekend times available.
References available upon request.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6891205149

posted:

best of [?]